2009 Nēnē Award Winner Inkheart

Inkheart Cover
Persuasive Contest
Misha Chun, grade 5, Kāneʻohe Elementary

Persuasive Contest
Honorable Mention
Bryan Kau, grade 6, Waolani Judd Nazarene School

Maile Griffin, grade 5, Maryknoll School

Emily Tashiro, grade 6, Kapolei Middle School

Interpretive Contest
Eileen Roco, grade 6, Sacred Hearts Academy

Interpretive Contest
Honorable Mention
Taylor Takemoto, Cristen Kramer, & Ariana Kitts
grade 5, Maryknoll School

Isaac Taguchi, grade 6, Waolani Judd Nazarene School

Christine Lee, Wendy Mun, & Nathaniel Colman
grade 5, Maryknoll School


Mahalo to Mr. Saul Nakayama, Kamehameha Schools Multimedia Production Assistant, for filming the Ceremony!


Hawai'i State Nēnē Award Ceremony 2010

Thursday, April 29 from 10 to 11 a.m.
Kamehameha Schools, Kapālama Campus
Princess Ruth Keʻelikōlani Auditorium

The Nēnē Award
Chosen by the Children of Hawaiʻi
Since 1959, Hawaii's fourth, fifth and sixth grade children have
voted for their favorite fiction book and presented the author
with the prized Nēnē Award.
This year, young readers voted for their favorite book
at their public or school libraries throughout Hawaiʻi.
In addition, students participated in the Nēnē Interpretive and Persuasive contests by submitting entries inspired by
the 2009 Nēnē Winner, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.

Mele Hoʻokipa

Kamehameha Elementary School students
directed by Mrs. Lynell Bright
video by Mr. Saul Nakayama

Student Masters of Ceremony
Cambrie Motooka and Alison Wu
Maryknoll School

2010 Contest Winners

Photos by Paul H. Marks, HSPLS

Sponsors' gift presentation

Sherman Tom and Kimberly Tom, Perma-Bound Books
Tamar Nite, Scholastic Book Fairs

Special Guest Author, Cornelia Funke
2009 Nēnē Award Winner
and the 2010 Nēnē Award Winner is . . .


2010 Nēnē Award Winner, Found

Cornelia Funke reads the 2010 author's acceptance letter

Closing Acknowledgements & Reminders
Virginia Koo and Sherry Rose, Nēnē Award Co-Chairs

ʻOli Mahalo
Kamehameha Elementary School Students

Special Guests

Richard Burns
State Librarian, Hawaiʻi State Public Library System
Donna Shiroma
Extended Learning Opportunities and Student Support
Grace Fujiyoshi and Linda Kim
Co-Presidents Hawaiʻi Association of School Librarians
Wil Okabe
President Hawaiʻi State Teachers Association
Ipo Tanaki
Barnes & Noble Booksellers - Kahala Mall
Sheryl Lynch
President Hawaiʻi Library Association
Holoua Stender
Principal, Kamehameha Elementary School

Many thanks to our generous sponsors and supporters of the
2010 Nēnē Award Program:

Hawaiʻi Association of School Librarians
Hawai'i Library Association
Hawaiʻi State Department of Education
Hawaiʻi State Public Library System
Hawaiʻi State Teachers Association
Kamehameha Schools
Maryknoll School
Barnes & Noble Booksellers - Kahala Mall
*Perma-Bound Books
Scholastic Book Fairs
Hawaiian Airlines
Hilton Hawaiian Village Spa & Resort

*Perma-Bound Books presented one copy of the 2010 Nēnē Award winning title to each library that participated in this year’s voting.

2009-2010 Nēnē Committee
Mrs. Virginia Koo, Maryknoll School Librarian
Mrs. Sherry Rose, Pauoa Elementary Librarian
Committee Members
Christina Abelardo, Michelle Colte, Julie Cone, Maile Davis,
Vicky Dworkin, Lynette Kam, Vicki Kwiatkowski, Mysti LePage, Christin Lyons, Patti Matsuura, Nālani Naluai, Loretta Nelson,
Dori Seatriz, Helen Shima, and Denise Sumida

Nene LogoFor more information about
the Hawaiʻi State Nēnē Award,
visit the website http://nene.k12.hi.us