2008 Nēnē Award Winner The Lightning Thief

Rick Riordan's Acceptance Letter

Essay Contest Winners

Poster Contest Winners

Performance Contest Winners

Digital Arts Contest Winners

Four Nancy Keane BookTalks and RSS Feed (mp3)-- Quick and Simple

Hawai'i State Nēnē Award Ceremony 2009

Thursday, May 14, 2009
Palikū Theatre, Windward Community College

The Nēnē Award
Chosen by the Children of Hawai'i
Since 1959, Hawaii's fourth, fifth and sixth grade children
have voted for their favorite fiction book and
presented the author with the prized Nēnē Award.
This year, young readers voted for their favorite book
at their public or school libraries throughout Hawai'i.
In addition, students participated in the Nēnē
poster, essay, performance and digital arts contests
by submitting entries inspired by the 2008 Nēnē Winner,
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Welcome and Introductions

Oli Aloha

Ka'iulani Houpo, Keahilani Louis, and Wailani Louis
Pū'ōhala Elementary School

Student Masters of Ceremony
Ray Cochrane and Nevan Pak
Pearl Harbor Elementary School

Special Guests
Representing Superintendant Patricia Hamamoto
Mrs. Donna Shiroma
Hawai'i Department of Education School Library Services

Mr. Richard Burns
State Librarian
Hawai'i State Public Library System

Mrs. Grace Fujiyoshi
President of the Hawai'i Association of School Libraries

Presentation of Gift Books
Mr. Sherman Tom and Ms. Kimberly Tom of Perma-Bound Books
Mrs. Tamar Nite from Scholastic Book Fairs
Ms. Ipo Tonaki, Barnes & Noble Booksellers, Kahala Mall

Essay Contest Winners
Poster Contest Winners
Digital Arts Contest Winners
Performance Contest Winners

Acceptance DVD Presenation from Rick Riordan

Announcement of the 2009 Nēnē Award Winner
Mrs. Virginia Koo
Nēnē Award Committee Co-Chair


2009 Nēnē Winner Inkheart
by Cornelia Funke

Mrs. Koo, Maryknoll librarian,
reads the author's
acceptance letter

Many thanks to the generous sponsors and supporters of the
2009 Nēnē Award Program

Hawai'i State Public Library System
Hawai'i State Department of Education
Hawai'i State Teachers Association
Windward Community College Paliku Theater
Hawai'i Library Association
Hawai'i Association of School Librarians
Perma-Bound Books
Barnes & Noble Booksellers
Scholastic Book Fairs
Pū'ōhala Elementary School
Pearl Harbor Elementary School

Perma-Bound Books is presenting a copy of the 2009 Nēnē Award winning title to the libraries that participated in the contest.

Photo Opportunity

The Contest Winners Photographed!

2008-2009 Nēnē Committee Members
Co Chairs
Mrs. Virginia Koo, Maryknoll School Librarian
Mrs. Sherry Rose, Pauoa Elementary Librarian

Committee Members
Michelle Colte Mysti LePage Loretta Nelson
Maile Davis Christin Lyons Dori Seatriz
Vicky Dworkin Patti Matsuura Helen Shima
Lynette Kam Renee Morioka Denise Sumida
Vicki Kwiatkowski Nalani Naluai  

Nene LogoFor more information about
the Hawai'i State Nēnē Award,
visit the website http://nene.k12.hi.us/