The Awards Ceremony was held at the Battleship Missouri Memorial on May 9, 2008.

The Nēnē Award
Chosen by the Children of Hawai'i

Since 1959, Hawaii's 4th, 5th and 6th graders have voted for their favorite fiction book and presented the author with the prized Nēnē Award. This year, over 6,900 readers voted for their favorite book at their school libraries or public libraries throughout the state of Hawai'i. In addition, students participated in the Nene poster, essay, performing arts, and digital arts contests by submitting entries inspired by the 2007 Nēnē Winner A Boy at War by Harry Mazer.

Welcome and Introductions

Oli Aloha, welcome chant: Dorie Kaha'ulelio


Masters of Ceremony
Kealohi Corpos and Jonah Sasahara
Pauoa Elementary

Star-Spangled Banner, Hawai'i Pono'i, This Land is Your Land
Na Keiki Mele O Pauoa under the direction of Christine Wee
Pauoa Elementary Chorus

Special Guests
Mrs. Vivian Aiona, wife of Hawai'i Lt. Governor Duke Aiona
Dr. Eileen Clarke, Hawai'i State Board of Education
Senator Norman Sakamoto, Hawai'i State Senate
Representative Corinne Ching, Hawaii State House of Representatives
Mr. Richard Burns, Hawai'i State Librarian, Hawai'i Public Library System
Mr. Roger Takabayashi, President, Hawai'i State Teachers Association
Mr. Sherman Tom, Perma-Bound Books
Mr. John Geeza, Perma-Bound Books
Tamar Nite, Scholastic Book Fairs
Christine Rodrigues, Scholastic Book Fairs

Guest Speaker Roger Takabayashi
Hawai'i State Teachers Association (HSTA) President

Recognition of the 2008 Nēnē Contest Winners

The audience enjoyed all of the Essays, Posters, and Performance and Digital Arts
presentations honoring Harry Mazer's book A Boy at War.

Presentation of Mazer's Letter
by Hawai'i State Librarian, Richard Burns

Announcement of the 2008 Nēnē Award Winner
The Lightning Thief
by Rick Riordan

Maile Davis, 2008 Nēnē Award Committee Chair with Kepa Barrett, Mililani Middle School student

Guest Speaker Dan Parsons
U.S.S. Missouri Education Director

Presentation of Gift Books
Sherman Tom and John Geeza, Perma-Bound Books
Tamar Nite, Scholastic Book Fairs

Contest Winners
2008 Hawai'i State Nēnē Award Contest Winners

Photo by Paul H. Mark, HSPLS
The contest winners gather under the Battleship Missouri Memorial's gun turrets with State Government VIPs,
back row from left, state Sen. Norman Sakamoto, State Librarian Richard Burns, Dr. Eileen Clarke, Board of Education member; Roger Takabayashi, HSTA President; and Tamar Nite of Scholastic Book Fairs.

Please wait a few minutes for the video clips to load. Mahalo!
Royalty Free Music by
Videography by Patti Matsuura

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2008 Nēnē Award Program:
Hawai'i State Public Library System
Hawai'i Department of Education
Hawai'i State Teachers Association
USS Missouri Memorial Association
Hawai'i Library Association
Friends of the Library of Hawai'i
Hawai'i Association of School Librarians
Hawai'i Association of Independent Schools
Accel Party Rentals
Perma-Bound Books
Barnes and Noble
Scholastic Book Fairs

2008 Nēnē Committee Members

Maile Davis, Chair

Hilary Apana-McKee Mysti LePage Sherry Rose
Michelle Colte Christin Lyons Helen Shima
Melissa de Leon Patti Matsuura Denise Sumida
Vicky Dworkin Nalani Naluai
Nicole Thode
Virginia Koo Loretta Nelson Janet Yap
Nori Leong    


[Back to Boy at War Page]

[Acceptance Letter]
[Awards Ceremony] [Essay Winners] [Poster Winners] [Performance Winners] [Digital Arts Contest Winners]

[Home] [Booklist] [History] [Past Winners] [Student Page] [Schedule of Events] [Librarian and Teacher Page] [Blog]