The Awards Ceremony was held at the Mission Memorial Auditorium on May 11, 2007.

The Nēnē Award
Chosen by the Children of Hawai'i

Since 1959, Hawaii's 4th, 5th and 6th graders have voted for their favorite fiction book and presented the author with the prized Nēnē Award. This year, over 3,000 readers voted for their favorite book at their school libraries or public libraries throughout the State of Hawai'i. In addition, students participated in the Nēnē poster, essay, performing arts, and digital arts contests by submitting entries inspired by the 2006 Nēnē Winner Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

Welcome and Introductions

Oli Aloha, welcome chant: Dorie Kaha'ulelio

Star-Spangled Banner, Hawai'i Pono'i: Na Keiki Mele O Pauoa
Pauoa Elementary Chorus

Masters of Ceremony
Sydney Forsyth and Nicholas Pugh
Aikahi Elementary

Special Appearances

Lt. Governor Duke Aiona
Senator Norman Sakamoto

Recognition of the 2007 Nēnē Contest Winners

The audience enjoyed all of the Essays, Posters, and Performance and Digital Arts presentations honoring Christopher Paolini's book Eragon.

Presentation of Paolini's Letter
by Television and Radio Personality, Michael W. Perry

Announcement of the 2007 Nēnē Award Winner
Boy at War by Harry Mazer

Presentation of Gift Books

John Geeza and Sherman Tom,
Perma Bound Books

Gayle Araki, Scholastic Book Fairs

Ipo Tanaki, Barnes & Noble

Photo Opportunity
with the
2007 Contest Winners

Many thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2007 Nēnē Award Program:
Barnes and Noble
Friends of the Library of Hawai'i
Hawai'i Association of Independent Schools
Hawai'i Association of School Librarians
Hawai'i Department of Education
Hawai'i Library Association
Hawai'i State Public Library System
The Honolulu Mayor's Office of Culture & the Arts
Perma-Bound Books
Scholastic Book Fairs

2007 Nēnē Committee Members

Linda Uchima
Linda Uchima, Chair

Hilary Apana-McKee Virginia Koo Helen Shima
Tisha Aragaki Patti Matsuura Denise Sumida
Michelle Colte Nalani Naluai
Nicole Thode
Maile Davis Linda Olingy Merle Uegawa
Melissa de Leon Sherry Rose Janet Yap
Vicky Dworkin    


Back to the Eragon Page

[Thank You Letter] [Acceptance Letter]
[Awards Ceremony] [Essay Winners] [Poster Winners] [Performance Winners] [Digital Arts Contest Winners]

[Home] [Booklist] [History] [Past Winners] [Student Page] [Schedule of Events] [Librarian and Teacher Page] [Blog]